Gluten-Free Pizza!

Oh, the delicious agony of it all!

I’ve been craving something, but I didn’t  know what. I knew I wanted to eat something not terribly good for me, but not disgusting (Standard American/Canadian Diet).

Then I found this recipe and my heart melted. Yes, this is definitely what I wanted. Tomatoes, dairy, and an egg. All the things that make my eczema flare up. I knew if I made this I would suffer for it. But I’d rather cheat and have this then break down and go to McDonalds. Yuck.

I also modified this because I can’t seem to find a good source of pastured cream that doesn’t cost 9 million dollars, so I used the next best thing; sour cream that only has 3 ingredients: milk ingredients, bacterial culture, microbial enzymes. It’s actually by a company called Western and when my mom used to be a Natural Values manager at Loblaws, she went to visit the farm where this stuff is made. She vouched that the animals are very well cared for and it’s a really great product.

I copied and pasted  a lot of the instructions from The Domestic Man, (just so I can give credit where credit is due!)

Ingredients for the crust:

1 1/2 cups tapioca flour (it’s the same thing as tapioca starch)
1/4 cup of Western sour cream
2 tbsp coconut oil
1/2 tsp salt
1 egg, beaten
1/2 tsp dried oregano
3/4 cup parmesan cheese (or any hard cheese), grated

1/2 cup of thick tomato paste
3/4 cup mozzarella or other soft cheese
toppings

In a saucepan, combine the sour cream, water, coconut oil, and salt and bring to a simmer on med/low heat. You want to get it to the point that it’s starting to bubble, but not boiling. In a large bowl, add the tapioca starch. When the cream/water mixture is heated, add it to the starch and stir it all together. It will start to clump together, which is fine. Let the mixture cool for five minutes. As it cools, set the broiler to 500F.

Add the beaten egg to the mixture, and knead together with your hands. Add the cheese, and oregano, and mix together until it’s dough-like. This is enough dough for two pizzas.

Split the dough in half, then stretch it out into the thinnest frisbee possible in the skillet, spreading to the edges of the skillet with your fingers. It will likely tear if you stretch it too far, so just pull it as far as you can. Try to get it as thin as possible – this is important so as to not make your crust too chewy. With a fork, poke some holes through the dough to let air pass through.

Broil in the middle of your oven for 5-6 minutes, until it’s golden brown on the top. Take it out and put it on your stove (keep the oven on!). The dough may bubble up a little while cooking, which is fine – it’ll go back down once you take it out of the oven.  This step is important because it gives the dough time to cook through without burning the toppings.

Add the tomato paste and toppings! Put back in the oven for 7-8 minutes, and maybe broil for another 2 minutes so the cheese on top browns up. For the picture below, I used hardwood smoked salami, spinach, olives, mushrooms and onions with mozzarella cheese. My eczema is already starting to flare up, but this was by far the best gluten-free pizza I’ve tried since going paleo and it was incredible. Next on the roster: a dairy/egg free version of this.

Bon apetit!

pizza1pizza2

3 comments on “Gluten-Free Pizza!

  1. [...] regards to my last post, Gluten-Free Pizza, which I ate about 2 hours ago, my blood sugars are up at 24. When the normal is supposed to be [...]

  2. What if you just used a portabella mushroom as the crust?

Leave a Reply

