Sugar-Free Banana Bread

My son was bugging me for a snack and since it’s grocery day, the only thing I had was one overripe banana. Luckily I had some eggs and coconut flour so I decided to make him banana bread. This recipe contains nuts and eggs, so it’s definitely not autoimmune-friendly, but it is sugar-free, sweetened only by the fruit.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup raw almonds
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 overripe (brown) banana
  • 1 TBLS cinnamon
  • 3 TBLS coconut oil
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 4 dates
  • 1/4 cup coconut flour

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350.

Put almonds in a food processor and grind for a couple of minutes until it becomes nut butter. Alternatively, use 1/4 cup almond butter. Add the eggs, banana, dates, vanilla, coconut oil, and cinnamon and mix for a few more minutes, until the dates are fully processed. Add the baking soda and powder, and coconut flour and process for another minute or so.

Using coconut oil, grease a 7 X 5 X 1.5 baking dish and put it in the oven for 25-30 minutes.

I served this to my kids with coconut oil and a drizzle of raw, unpasteurized honey. I admit, I took a little bite, to make sure it was palatable enough for my kids. (At least that’s how I justified it to myself.) It was very delicious.

photo

One comment on “Sugar-Free Banana Bread

  1. I like the helpful info you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your blog and check again here frequently. I am quite sure I’ll learn lots of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

Leave a Reply

