The 21-Day Sugar Detox is Done, Celebrating With a Raw Liver Smoothie!

Hoorah! It’s the end of the 21-Day Sugar Detox! What am I going to do now? GORGE MYSELF ON SWEETS?! No way! I’m trying my damnedest to get my A1C (average blood glucose reading over the last few months) down. Right now I’m at 7.7 and my doctor wants me below 5.

The detox went well. I didn’t post as many pictures as I could have, I suppose, but I’m glad I took on the challenge and stuck through to the end.

Here are some things I learned while on the detox:

  • I really enjoy eating food that nourishes my body
  • I didn’t eat enough sweet things to warrant doing the detox, but I’m glad I did it all the same
  • Exercise definitely helps me sleep better at night, especially when it’s coupled with a great diet
  • I miss eggs but they don’t miss me, I’m starting to react more severely every time I ingest them
  • I enjoy a good challenge
  • My portion sizes need improvement, I always serve too much food
  • I really want to focus on my health in 2013, and the detox helped me fine-tune my diet

I really need to stick to the autoimmune protocol from now on. I’m pretty sure my egg ‘intolerance’ is becoming an egg allergy, this makes me so sad. However, it also makes me want to start a whole new experimentation of egg free mayo’s! I’m going to work on that bacon mayo one until it’s perfected.

What’s that about a raw liver smoothie?

Well, I saw this video, from Peggy over at Primal Parent, and it both horrified and intrigued me. I gagged when I watched it.

One time when I was in high school, my mom served my brother, sister, and I steak. I have always loved steak and so I ate with gusto. After a few bites, I noticed something wrong with the steak. It tasted almost rotten.

“Mom, I think this steak is bad,” I told her. It was too gristly and had a very strong smell to it. I ate a few more pieces and it just tasted ‘off’. I kept telling my mother that there was something wrong with it until she relented and admitted it was liver. Ew.

According to the Weston A. Price Foundation, liver contains more nutrients, gram for gram, than any other food. It also provides:

  • An excellent source of high-quality protein
  • Nature’s most concentrated source of vitamin A
  • All the B vitamins in abundance, particularly vitamin B12
  • One of our best sources of folic acid
  • A highly usable form of iron
  • Trace elements such as copper, zinc and chromium; liver is our best source of copper
  • An unidentified anti-fatigue factor
  • CoQ10, a nutrient that is especially important for cardiovascular function
  • A good source of purines, nitrogen-containing compounds that serve as precursors for DNA and RNA.

Wow! Liver really does sound like a super food. Too bad it tastes like butt. I decided to try and source a grass-fed beef liver. When I went to the butcher today to pick up my weekly supply of meat, I was pleasantly surprised to find out they actually had a grass-fed beef liver. It was $15 for a whole liver, which is huge! I brought it home and put it in the freezer for almost an hour so that it would get frozen-gritty so I could cut it more easily. I chopped it up into 30 or so small plastic baggies and put most of them in the freezer. I saved myself one nice piece to make my own smoothie.

This is what I’ve learned about liver:

  • I don’t like the taste of liver
  • However, I much prefer the taste of raw liver to cooked liver
  • When making the smoothies, use a whole lemon
  • Keep your nose plugged while you drink it, it has a very pungent aroma and helps prevent gagging
  • By the end of the smoothie I wasn’t gagging, and I could actually get it down more easily
  • All that gagging was well worth the health benefits I know I’ll get from consuming the liver
  • I could potentially eat this once, maybe twice a week to garner the health benefits

 

Interested in the recipe? It’s very simple. Just raw, grass-fed beef liver, juice from a whole lemon, and a bit of water to smooth out the texture. I put mine in the food processor, but I think a blender would work better. Start with smaller pieces of liver, you don’t want to be drinking cups full of this stuff! This made enough for almost a full mug of smoothie. Also, the smell is terrible. When you’re done grinding it, you’re going to wonder why the hell you decided to do this in the first place. Always remember: THIS IS FOR YOUR HEALTH!

Bottoms up!

 

One comment on “The 21-Day Sugar Detox is Done, Celebrating With a Raw Liver Smoothie!

  1. Jennifer L. says:

    Maybe you might have some insight? I am loosely doing the 21 day sugar detox–level 3 with the sweet potato/squash add in for nursing moms. My glucose levels have been insane! I had a pork chop, 1/2 cup of sweet potato, salad and cauliflower and my glucose levels soared to 148 mg/dL (higher than usual for me–which is 80-120 mg/dL after meals). My mornings have been really low–45-55 mg/dL. This morning, i tried raw soaked buckwheat groats blended with walnuts, topped with blueberries (first fruit/grain addition–day 13) and it was 158 mg/dL 1 hour post-prandial. I do not eat eggs or nuts, so my breakfast options have felt absurdly limited and unfilling.

Leave a Reply

