30 Day Challenge and a Breakfast Recipe!

Alright, I’m committing. I’m committing to 30 days of strict paleo eating. I’m committing to losing weight and a healthier life for me and my kids. I was re-reading the implementation chapters of Robb Wolf’s, The Paleo Solution last night and I was definitely inspired. I’m tired of being overweight. Annoyed, even. I’ve had kids, I’m turning 30 soon, there really is no reason for me not to focus on myself and get healthy. My kids need me to show them that healthy eating can be fun. And because this is my blog, you guys get to come along for the adventure!

30 Days starting today. No grains. No legumes. Maybe a little dairy, because I love me some sour cream.

 

Here’s a delicious breakfast that I made myself this morning. I call it Pineapple Pork Scramble.

  • 1/3 cup or organic pineapple salsa
  • 2 eggs (or as many as you like to stuff in your pie hole. I usually eat 3, sometimes 4, eggs but because I’m trying to lose weight, I’m cutting back to 2.)
  • left over shredded pork (or ham)
  • pepper

Turn on the pan  until it gets nice and hot, then add the salsa. It should steam when you add it to the pan. Then toss in the shredded pork.

While it’s cooking, scramble the eggs with lots of pepper. When you’re done, toss them in the pan with the salsa and pork. Stir frequently. Keep in mind that the eggs will take a little longer to cook than if they went straight in the pan without the other ingredients. For the love of all that is holy, make sure the eggs are cooked. The snot-like consistency of uncooked eggs makes me gag, hard. When everything is done, (and you’re sure the eggs are cooked), plate it and if you have some cilantro, add it to the top. If you’re not strictly paleo, you could add a dollop of sour cream and perhaps a little shredded cheddar. I did none of the above, mostly because today I decided I was going strict paleo, and because I had no cilantro. Instead, I threw on some red cabbage. It added a really nice crunch. I hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

