Breakfast Sausage Frittata

I’ve been yearning to use my cast iron skillet in the oven for some kind of fun recipe. I kept thinking I would find a paleo crumble or some such. I finally have it! Frittata! Also, I love breakfast for dinner. You really can’t go wrong with eggs.

As I write this, I realize I had eggs for breakfast. Oh well. To make this delectable dish you will need:

  • 10 eggs
  • 1 package of super awesome pastured breakfast sausages (obviously I got mine from Peasant’s Craft Farms, and these little piggy delights taste like a party in your mouth!)
  • 2 yellow onions
  • half a package of presliced mushrooms, chopped
  • a cast iron skillet! (or a skillet that can be put in the oven READ: no plastic handles!)

Toss the sausages into the heated skillet and cook them up for a bit. Take a knife and chop them up in the skillet. Add the chopped onions and mushrooms and let them cook until the onions start to caramelize. My kids always tell me they hate onions, but honestly, when you caramelize them and call them ‘sugar onions’, they’ll gobble them right down.

 

Turn the oven on to broil. Turn up the heat to medium high on the sausages and while it’s getting nice and hot, mix the eggs in a bowl with lots of pepper. When the skillet is sizzling hot, add the eggs, then turn the heat down to low and cook for 5 minutes.

Now, for my favourite part. Put the skillet in the oven! Cook it for another 5 minutes, until the eggs are cooked through and there’s a little brown on top. Remember how I feel about the snot-like consistency of uncooked eggs. Make sure they are cooked, but not overcooked. I also have a thing against overcooked eggs. Yuck.

Anyway, when it’s finished, make sure you are careful taking it out of the oven! Let it cool for a few minutes (if you can wait that long) and then serve it up!

Leave a Reply

