Tuna Bacon Salad

Never underestimate the effect of exercise on sleep. Yesterday Rowan and I walked to the mall to get him a new pair of spring boots. Driving there takes less than a minute, but he likes to walk and I need exercise so everyone wins. It took us almost half an hour to walk, which was fine because Rowan likes to explore as we walk.

On the way home it took us less time, which was also fine. He was a hungry boy and needed lunch. Anyway, he had a really good nap, and by the time he woke up, the girls were home from school.

After that amazing frittata, I decided to visit a friend of mine to lend her my copy of The Paleo Solution. She has some hormone imbalances and I think she would really benefit from going paleo. Her doctor had also mentioned it to her, which is always a good sign! Anyway, I took the dog and the 3 kids and off we went on an almost hour-long walk to my friend’s house. I must admit, it wouldn’t have taken as long, but herding kids is hard work. Anyway, all that to say that the kids slept in later than usual this morning, and I was comatose until this morning. I didn’t even move, and my side is numb because of it. But I feel good. I’ve used my muscles, and I can feel that I’ve used them.

I feel I need a good whack of protein this morning, and I’m getting tired of eggs, so I made myself some tuna salad. I had a little leftover from making the girls’ lunch, so I just added to it.

  • 1 can of tuna (in only water, no broth or soy garbage), drained
  • half an avocado
  • 1 green onion, sliced
  • 1-2 TBLS mayo (home made is best, but today I used hellman’s)
  • half an english cucumber, cut however you like to stuff it in your face
  • a couple of strips of pasture-raised bacon
  • 1/4 red or orange pepper (optional)
  • pepper

Start the bacon in the pan. While it’s cooking, mash the avocado and the mayo together in a bowl. Add the tuna and mix well. Add the slices of green onion, pepper, cucumber, and the peppers if you aren’t omitting those from your diet. Mix everything well. When the bacon is cooked, chop it up and add it to the bowl. Again, mix everything well. Bon Appetit!

This would go very well in any kind of collard or lettuce wrap, but I ate it straight out of the bowl.

P.S. I’m sorry about the quality of these pictures, I’ve been taking them with my iPhone. I think I’m going to bust out my big camera and start taking some ‘real’ pictures.

Leave a Reply

