Paleo Breakfast Ideas

I often discover after the fact that my husband has stopped eating breakfast altogether on most days. He told me that for 25 years, every morning, he had a bowl of cereal and toast with peanut butter. Paleo nightmare much? Now he feels like he doesn’t know what to make himself, and he doesn’t give himself a lot of time to cook anything. Not to mention, he gets tired of eggs in the morning.

I’ve decided to come up with some muffin-type things that I can make him that he can grab and go. It will also be good for the girls to give them a bit of a switch from omelettes and scrambled eggs. Even though these muffins contain eggs, at least it gives them some fat and little bit of carbs as well from the coconut flour.

I’m also making home made jerky today, which I hope will go well with the breakfast muffins.

Here are some other breakfast ideas:

  • Bake salmon or tilapia the night before, and in the morning you can mix it with avocado and salsa and some hot sauce to spice up your morning. You could also crumble it onto a morning salad, or reheat it as is and serve with wilted spinach. Even better, wrap in a big collard leaf with some avocado, shredded carrots, cucumbers, and a bit of mayo for a yummy breakfast wrap. You could even make this the night before and wrap it in parchment so you could just grab it and go. The best part is, no bread to get soggy!
  • Any form of leftover meat could be shredded and mixed with some mayo or avocado (or both!) and some chopped veggies to make a ‘chicken’ salad or a ‘pork’ salad. This could also be made the night before for a grab-n-go breakfast.
  • Make 2 batches of egg cupcakes, and store in the fridge for the next couple of days.
  • Hard boil a couple of eggs, pre-cook some bacon and chop up some veggie sticks. It’ll be a cold breakfast, but at least your tummy will be full.
  • Cold or hot dinner leftovers.

The key is to be prepared. If you’re like my husband and you wake up with just enough time to get ready for work but not much else, then prepare a breakfast the night before. It’s easy to assemble something when you’re getting dinner ready the night before. You just have to get out of the mindset of ‘cereal or toast for breakfast’.

Paleo Cornbread Muffins

  • 2/3 cup coconut flour
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil, 1/4 cup rendered bacon fat (lard) combined
  • 8 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt

The recipe I followed said to preheat oven to 200. I found that didn’t cook them enough and I ended up turning the oven up to 300. Therefor, preheat your oven to 300. Whisk together the coconut flour, baking powder and salt. In another bowl, beat the eggs. Whisk in the melted oil. I just left mine in the preheated oven until it was completely melted.  Add the coconut flour mixture to the egg/oil mixture and stir to combine. I used my food processor to blend it until if formed a dough mixture. Divide the batter into a bacon-greased muffin tin. I was only able to make 11. Bake for 25 minutes or until golden browned. Take out of oven and let cool. They taste delicious and the recipe said you could use these for stuffing, which I think is an amazing idea, and will definitely have to try soon! Enjoy!

 

Jerky

  • 2 flank steaks (or any cut of really lean meat) cut into 1/4 inch slices
  • 1/2 cup of wheat-free tamari or coconut aminos (I haven’t been able to find coconut aminos anywhere, but if you have some, I would use that over the wheat-free tamari.)
  • pepper

Put the meat in glass container and let marinade in the wheat-free tamari and sprinkle liberally with pepper. Marinade for as little as 1 hour and up to 24 hours. The longer you let it sit, the stronger the flavour will be. Personally, I really like the flavour of the meat so I don’t like too much flavour. I marinaded it for an hour and then put it in my dehydrator. I’ll leave it in there for the afternoon, and I’ll be checking on it every so often to make sure it’s drying well.

For those of you who don’t have a dehydrator, you can use your oven. Pat the meat dry with some paper towel then place the meat slices on the oven racks. The meat pieces shouldn’t be touching each other. Dry in the oven for about 5-7 hours, until meat takes on a brown color and a hard, dry appearance and texture.

 

Leave a Reply

