Chicken Stock

I’ve been trying to make a good stock for years, and I can never quite seem to manage it. There’s always something missing. It’s never quite rich enough.

Last night I made chicken stock from the remains of the chicken dinner I roasted for dinner and it’s the richest, most flavourful broth I’ve ever had.  You can make this broth with any vegetables you have in your fridge, and this is especially good for veggies that are starting to go bad. You could toss mushrooms, spinach (or any leafy green), tomatoes, or cabbage. Whatever you end up putting in your stock is going to lend it your own unique flavour.

I’ve got to admit, making stock from a chicken that’s been roasted lends the stock a much richer flavour. I usually use an uncooked chicken to make stock. Well, now I know better.

To make the most delicious stock in the world, you’ll need:

  • chicken carcass (preferably from a chicken that has previously been roasted)
  • 2 carrots, unpeeled, roughly chopped
  • 3 onions, quartered, skins on
  • 1 stalk of celery (I don’t like celery, but it has a really nice flavour in soups if you don’t put too much)
  • half a lemon, peel on
  • 1 bushel of fresh parsley
  • lots of poultry seasoning, to taste
  • 1 bulb of garlic, unpeeled
  • lots of salt, to taste
  • lots of pepper (1 tsp, at least)

Put everything in a big soup pot and cover it with water. Turn it on high so it comes to a boil, uncovered, then turn it down to medium low and simmer for a couple of hours. The stock will reduce, adding to the flavour. Taste it at intervals to see if there’s anything you want to add (more salt?) and continue to simmer.

When my stock had the flavour I wanted, I strained it into my cock pot to keep warm over night. I also picked off whatever little remnants of chicken that were left on the carcass and added that to the stock.

This was the perfect breakfast, too. We all woke up and served up some broth, along with a boiled egg or two and some jerky. Simple, delicious. I hope you’ll make it and enjoy it too!

 

Leave a Reply

