Paleo Challenge Day 5

For the last couple of mornings, my blood sugars have been dropping almost too low. It usually happens after breakfast, around mid-morning.

When I first wake up, I usually do a blood test, then, no matter what it is (unless it’s really low, I’d say 4 or lower) I give myself 6 units of novorapid insulin. I need to have a bit of insulin in my system and this has been my routine for years. I’m now on day 6 of the Paleo Challenge and I’ve already reduced my long acting insulin (levemir) by 2 units. I went from 18 to 17 for a few days, and last night I reduced it to 16 units.

I’m not really working out so much as staying active. I spent the day at the park yesterday afternoon flying kites with the kids. I’m going swimming again this morning with Rowan. Instead of being sedentary, I’m trying to keep moving. I’m already sleeping better, my blood sugars are improving. Paleo is really working for me. I did have some dairy this weekend, but this is the start of a new week, and I’m back to being dairy-free for the challenge.

I just did a blood test and it was 4.8. This is fantastic. I’ve never had such pristine blood sugars so consistently since I started paleo. Not only do I love this challenge, I love the way I feel.

Without further ado, I’m off to swim with my son!

Leave a Reply

