Pan Fried Pork With Stinging Nettle and Dandelion

I’ve been boring and uncreative the past couple days. I’ve stuck to strict paleo, and quite frankly, I’m proud of myself. However, it also means that I haven’t posted much. I’m getting a bit bored with eggs, and I also think I might be developing an allergy. I’ve eaten 3 eggs for breakfast for years, even before I went paleo. Needless to say, it’s time to switch it up!

A couple of days ago I made myself a wicked tuna breakfast. I mixed in one avocado, a tiny bit of mayo, a bunch of spinach, some green onion and lots of pepper. It was delicious.

This morning, I wanted a hot meal. I thawed a pork cutlet last night, and this morning I went into my garden to see if there was any stinging nettle. There was a ton! I grabbed a bowl and some scissors and started harvesting.

As I was harvesting the nettle, Rowan found a patch of dandelions! I harvest a few of the heads (the leaves were too big, I should have gone out to the garden sooner,) and then headed in to prepare a decadent breakfast. I pan fried the pork cutlet in some leftover bacon grease I had in my cast iron pan. When it was almost finished, I tossed in a little bit of coconut oil and dumped the nettles and dandelion yellows into the pan too.

Stinging nettles only need a little bit of heat to get rid of their sting. They taste a lot like spinach. “Stinging nettle is a powerhouse of nutrients.  It contains on average 22% protein, 4% fats, 37% non-nitrogen extracts, 9-21% fiber, and 19-29% ash.  The leaves contain about 4.8 mg chlorophyll per gram of dry leaves, depending on whether the plant was grown in the sun or shade.  Surprisingly, more chlorophyll and carotenoids are found in plants that have been grown in the shade. The dried leaf of nettle contains 40% protein. They are one of the highest known sources of protein in a leafy green, and of superior quality than many other green leafy vegetables, The fresh leaves contain vitamins A, C, D, E, F, K, P, and b-complexes as well as thiamin, riboflavin, niacin, and vitamin B-6, all of which were found in high levels, and act as antioxidants. The leaves are also noted for their particularly high content of the metals selenium, zinc, iron, and magnesium.  They contain boron, sodium, iodine, chromium, copper, and sulfur.” -http://www.herballegacy.com/Vance_Chemical.html

It was a damn fine breakfast.

Leave a Reply

