Christmas In Your Mouth: Bacon Chicken

I haven’t posted in a couple of days, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t been eating paleo! I’m still doing the challenge, I’ve lost a couple of pounds (not as much as I’d like) and I’m still trekking. I actually don’t find it terribly hard. I love the way I feel, my blood sugars are still amazing and I’m happy. I’m moving a lot, swimming, and walking. Running a bit with the kids at the park. I can’t believe how much exercise affects my blood sugars. I always knew that being sedentary was ‘bad’ for me, but I didn’t realize how bad. I’m thinking about lowering my night time insulin again, but I don’t want to drop it too drastically.

Speaking of blood sugars, I’m expecting a new blood test kit in the mail this week. It’s really neat because it’s the only monitor that tracks trends in highs and lows and let’s you know about it. I got it for free through medical alert. Yay for free stuff!

Speaking of free stuff, I notice that a lot of American bloggers have a lot of cool give-aways on their blog, but it’s only for people who live in the States. It really sucks, because I would love to be eligible for some of them, they are awesome. Anyway, I’m going to look into having a give-away here, I just need to figure out how it works.

Needless to say, I found the most amazing recipe EVER over at Paleo Parents! They wrote a book called Eat Like a Dinosaur, (which I don’t own, yet, but wish I did) and they have some super delicious recipes over at the site. One of them being Bacon Chicken.

That’s right, it’s a chicken, wrapped up in bacon slices, like a perfectly wrapped little christmas present for your mouth. I just tossed it in the oven and I can’t WAIT for dinner tonight!

***

Dinner was amazing. The bacon crisped up and fell off as it cooked, leaving the chicken evenly browned and beautiful. Not to mention, succulent!

I’ve copied and pasted this from The Bacon Chicken, over at Paleo Parents. Check them out, they are incredible.

What you’ll need:

  • 1 whole chicken
  • 1 package of pastured bacon, cut in half
  • half a package of pre-cut white mushrooms
  • 1 lemon
  • 1 onion
  • 6 cloves of garlic
  • 1 Tbsp salt
  • 1/2 Teaspoon pepper
  • 1/2 head of cabbage (about 4 cups), sliced


  1. Halve the lemon and garlic cloves, quarter the onion (don’t worry about peeling)
  2. Pat the outside of the chicken dry with a towel
  3. Sprinkle salt and pepper inside the chicken cavity and over the skin
  4. Stuff cavity with the lemon, onion, garlic and rosemary
  5. Place bacon slices over entire exposed surface of chicken, wrapping evenly in a single layer – ensuring no chicken skin is left exposed – if your bacon doesn’t stick then pat dry again and start over
  6. Spread sliced cabbage and mushrooms around bottom of a baking dish (no fat, no seasoning – trust us), set chicken on top of cabbage in a cast iron frying pan
  7. Roast uncovered at 400 degrees for 90 minutes or until chicken is cooked through, shake pan to stir cabbage every 20 minutes to prevent burning

 

3 comments on “Christmas In Your Mouth: Bacon Chicken

  1. hungrycupcakes says:

    OMG YES! Bacon makes everything better. FACT.

  2. This looks AMAZING.

  3. Holy heck yes. I will be doing this very soon.

Leave a Reply

