A Breakfast/Dessert Recipe and Two Dinners

I’ve been making some delicious food but I haven’t had time to post them. Here are a few things I’ve done. An easy breakfast I made for the kids one morning, there are 2 variations.

Bake 2 sweet potatoes, wrapped in tinfoil with coconut oil, in the oven for 1 hour at 400F. Let them cool a bit, then put them in an oven safe dish. Beat 2 eggs, and mash well with the potatoes. Add 1 TBLS of honey and a sprinkle of cinnamon. Bake for 35-40 minutes at 375F. Take it out of the oven and let it cool. Place in the fridge for the children to eat for breakfast.

The other variation is to cut a butternut squash in half, scrape out the guts and lay them flat, cut side down, on a baking sheet. Bake for 1 hour at 375F. Take them out of the oven and let them cool for a bit. Turn them over and scrape out all the squash into a pie plate or a loaf pan. Mash well with 1 banana, 1 egg, 1/3 cup coconut flour, and 1 TBLS honey. Oh yeah, and lots of cinnamon. Bake in the oven for 35-40 minutes at 375F.  Great for dessert or for breakfast the next day!

I had never made pork tenderloin before, so I called my mom. She told me that I could slice it up and wrap the pieces in bacon. I did, and they turned out amazing. I used pastured bacon, and the slices were thicker than the grocery store bacon. I coupled it with a lovely coleslaw that I made on the fly with red cabbage, sour cream, a bit of mayo, the juice from half a lemon, and lots of pepper.

Finally, I made the most amazing burgers last night. They were salty and moist. I used roughly 2lbs of pork, and 1lbs of ground beef. Mixed it with 2 eggs, garlic powder, salt and pepper. I formed them into patties and pan fried them in some leftover bacon grease that was still in the pan. I served it over a grilled portobello mushroom on some mixed greens, with some yummy guacamole. I just mashed up 1 avocado with lots of cilantro and the juice from half of 1 lemon.

I gotta say, this was one of the best burgers I’ve ever made. Next time I’ll do them up on the BBQ for some extra flavour. However, my blood sugars stayed a bit high after dinner and into the evening. I guess there’s more carbs in avocados than I thought? Anyway, it was delicious.

One comment on “A Breakfast/Dessert Recipe and Two Dinners

  1. Its such as you read my thoughts! You appear to know a lot approximately this, like you wrote the e book in it or something. I feel that you can do with a few % to pressure the message house a bit, but other than that, this is fantastic blog. A fantastic read. I will certainly be back.

Leave a Reply

