Home Made Apple Sauce

I love my crock pot. It’s magic should be revered by all. You can make soups, stews, roasts, and lots more,  including apple sauce! I got a magnificent amount of apples from the farmer’s market in anticipation of making apple sauce. I will admit, I generally don’t like apple sauce, the texture leaves a lot to be desired. However, my children love it. After I made it, I had to try it, and it wasn’t so bad (texture-wise) and it tasted pretty good with some fresh cut mint from the garden and some elk sausage for breakfast!

To make home made apple sauce, you will need a crock pot or you can do this on the stove:

18 apples, peeled and cored (or as many or as little apples that will fit into your crock or stock pot, it’s alright if they fill it up, as long as the lid can cover them)

Cinnamon (optional)

Raisins (optional)

Enough water to fill the crock or stock pot 3/4 full

 

1. Peel and core the the apples.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. If you don’t have a fandyke contraption that chops and cores at the same time, then you’ll be stuck chopping 18 or so apples. It’ll suck, but it’ll be worth it.

3. Put apples in the crock or stock pot.

4. Fill it with water only about 3/4’s full. Add 1/2 cup of raisins, if you like them. You could also wait to add these until after you’ve mashed the apples. Add cinnamon, I didn’t measure but it’ll amount to about 1  full tsp. Put the lid on and put the crock pot on high for 3-4 hours.

5. Stir occasionally. When the apples are soft and floating, it’s ready. I couldn’t use my immersion blender in the crock pot so I had to transfer to a large bowl to blend. You could also use a blender of food processor in batches. Anyway, transfer and blend well. Now would be the time to add the raisins if you decided to omit them from the stewing. Once it’s blended, put it back into the crock pot on the ‘warm’ setting. I left mine overnight so the kids could have warm apple sauce in the morning. I also filled an empty jar (of applesauce) and put it in the fridge. You could probably fill about 3 or more (maybe) empty applesauce jars. Add more cinnamon, a little mint or lemon balm, and if you eat dairy, some cheese!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

