Chestnut Flour Pancakes

My son asked me for pancakes today. I haven’t made pancakes for a while, and I was about to tell him that I didn’t have the ingredients, when I remembered that I had some chestnut flour. I went online and all the recipes I found mixed the chestnut flour with either almond or coconut flours, neither of which I had. So I decided to go ahead and make up my own recipe. They turned out pretty well, but there are a few things I would change. I’ll definitely have to tinker with this recipes, but for now, they were wonderful.

Ingredients:

1 cup chestnut flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 cup full fat coconut milk
3 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
2 TBLS apple sauce

Directions:

Mix the chestnut flour and the baking soda in a bowl. Mix the wet  ingredients in another bowl. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and mix well. It will look just like pancake batter. Heat a cast iron skillet (obviously) and put in 1 TBLS of coconut oil. I only had olive oil and I used that, and the pancakes were still fine, but I would have used the coconut oil if I had had any.

Ladle in a spoon full or two and let cook for a few minutes. These brown up real nice, however, I found the texture a little too soft, even when cooked evenly on both sides. Maybe it would be better to use a bit of coconut flour next time, or maybe a little less milk and 1 or 2 more eggs. Either way, these were yummy. Serve with maple syrup, honey, or fresh fruit and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

