Salsa Sausage With Asparagus and Sweet Potato Pie

I had some red deer sausage that I picked up from the farmer’s market this weekend that I wanted to use. There were only 4 in the package, but they were pretty big.

WARNING: GROSS CONTENT AHEAD:

I had a little incident when I FIRST went paleo, last year. It was at the beginning of my first 30 day challenge. I had some pretty big sausages in the freezer. They were in packages of 3 and I decided I’d eat the whole thing to myself. Well, later that night I ended up barfing it all up into the toilet. It looked like I had eaten condoms, from the sausage casings. It was quite disgusting. Anyway, after that, I’m not really a big fan of sausage casings, though I love the meat.

Ingredients:

2 large, gluten free,  sausages
1lb ground pork
2 yellow onions, chopped
1 453g (16 oz) jar of salsa
2 bunches of asparagus, chopped

For the pie:

4 sweet potatoes
4 eggs
sprinkle of cumin

Directions:

Cut the sweet potatoes in half lengthwise. Wrap them in tin foil and bake in the oven at 375F for an hour. When they’re finished, take them out of the oven to let them cool. Remove the sause meat from the casing and cook in a skillet with the pork.

Take the potatoes and scrape them out of the skins into a pie plate. Beat the 4 eggs well then mash with the potatoes. It will look like sloppy mess, but that’s fine. Add the cumin and some pepper. Bake in the oven for 35 minutes at 375F.

Add the onions and cook until the meat is done. Add the salsa and cook for a few more minutes.

When the pie is ready, take it out of the oven and let it cool for a few minutes. Serve together!  This sweet potato pie could also be a delicious breakfast alternative to make the night before. I usually use 1 egg to 1 sweet potato. You could add cinnamon and a little vanilla to make it sweeter. My kids love it when I make this. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

