Practical Paleo Review

I finally received my copy of Practical Paleo by Diane Sanfilippo, and I have to say, the information is incredible. I stayed up until 1am reading until I got to the food plans section (completely ignoring the part of the book that says the best way to eliminate stress is to sleep more!)

This morning I woke up early (gasp!) and made myself one of her recipes, the Coco-Nutty grain-free porridge, and while it was delicious and didn’t make me gag like regular oatmeal, I was mildly nauseous after, and had a case of epic belching. I think the nuts don’t quite agree with me. This isn’t the first time that I’ve felt this way, but it is the first time that I’ve associated it with something specific.

That being said, this book has tons of information on digestion and the things that affect it. That’s right, things, not just food. There’s a guide to your poop, which is pretty informative, and definitely makes me rethink putting gross stuff in my body again. I really like that it’s not just a book about paleo information necessarily, but about digestion.

Even if I wasn’t interested in that kind of information though (which, obviously I am!) the 30-day meal plans that are laid out are phenomenal. As a type 1 diabetic, with hypothyroidism, and awful eczema, (which I ‘m hoping will also resolve as I follow this plan.) I chose the meal plan that focuses on Thyroid Health. I can also cross reference with the meal plan for diabetes/blood sugar regulation and as long as I avoid the goitrogens, voila! I have a meal plan that’s personalized and can help my overall health.

One thing that makes me a little sad is that with hypothyroidism, I shouldn’t be eating goitrogens. I love me some sauerkraut! Alas, it’s only for 30 days (for now) so we’ll see what happens at the end of this. I’ve been looking everywhere for a fermenting crock so I can make my own kraut, but to no avail. Shipping from the US is $90, and the one place I found that sells them in Canada won’t ship from Toronto AND the price of it is practically doubled. Amazon.com won’t send it to me here in Canada, and Amazon.ca doesn’t have them available. I know I can make kraut without a crock, but the last batch I made did not turn out. At all. Anyway, I’m on a mission to find one, and hopefully reasonably priced too.

Today I’m going to butcher to get marrow bones so I can roast them as per the recipe on page 288, Roasted Marrow Bones. It looks so incredible on the page that it makes my mouth water!

Speaking of making my mouth water, one negative thing that I will say about this book is some of the photography bugs me because it’s out of focus. This was probably done for the artistry, but with a background in photography, it drives me mental. Don’t get me wrong, not all the pictures are out of focus, but for the money you spend on this book, it would be nice if you felt like eating all of the pages. Page 266, the mustard glazed chicken thighs look so good I would devour the page if I thought for one second that it contained any flavour. But the previous page, the savoury baked chicken legs, is just a little out of focus and I feel that takes away a bit from the final product. Obviously the photographer is working with a narrow depth of field for most of these shots, but I still think the shots could have been cleaner. Maybe it’s just me, but especially with a big cook book like this, I think pictures of food should be crisp and clean.

Anyway, that’s just a minor gripe, really. This book has tons of recipes, meal plans, and the best part, is the tear out guides than you can put up on your white board or fridge. There are guides to gluten, sweeteners, paleo carbs, cooking fats and a few more.

The specific meal plans also include (but are not limited to) chronic fatigue, blood sugars, thyroid health, athletes, and a ‘squeaky clean’ paleo diet for someone starting out with paleo and doesn’t want to futz around with restrictions or other finicky meal plans.

This book is worth it’s weight in gold for the information, and that’s a lot of gold because this book is a tomb with over 400 large pages of meal plans, and recipes. If you could own only one paleo book, I would say it should be this one. Hell, if you could own only one cookbook, I would say it should be this one.

I can’t wait to go to the farmer’s market this Sunday to get my hands on some delicious pastured meat!

Leave a Reply

