Nourished

I love that word. Nourished. Just say it out loud. Nourished. It makes me feel all tingly inside. It makes me think of luscious, healthy food digesting in my tummy and giving me bountiful energy. Yum.

Nourished to me, means clean eating. Delicious, healthy, organic/pastured food. Simple, delectable fare that I don’t have to worry about putting in my body. Something that will add to my health and well-being, instead of taking it away.

When I was growing up, I used to eat a lot of liverwurst. My mother and I would polish off an entire (roll? loaf? sausage? spread?) of it with a package of crackers in one sitting. It was so good. I’d noticed a while back that the commercial one was made with bread crumbs. How disappointing. I thought I’d never get to enjoy the taste of it again.

Until I made the recipe from Diane Sanfilippo‘s book, Practical Paleo. I made this recipe last night and it turned out fantastic. I used a pastured beef liver, and a lamb liver and I more than doubled the recipe. At first I found the texture a little off-putting, but still delicious.  I refrigerated it overnight and ate it for breakfast with some cucumbers. It was infinitely better this morning. It was amazing because I was intimately aware of each and every ingredient I put in it.

My best friend, Maddy, was over last night to help me prepare some food for my mother’s 50th birthday party today. She helped me make the paté (she doesn’t like it when I call it liverwurst), and I don’t think it would have turned out as delicious without her input.

This is the recipe, as taken from Balanced Bites, and in the brackets in italics is what I changed:

1lb chicken liver [you can try other liver if you like- select the darkest livers that you can find as lighter-colored livers are less healthy.] (As I said, I used a beef liver and a lamb liver and combined them.)
1 small onion (or 1/2 of a large onion), 
chopped (I used 2 medium onions.)
1/2 cup red wine 
(or you can try balsamic vinegar if you don’t want to use or don’t have red wine) (I used one cup.)
2-4 cloves garlic, 
crushed
1 teaspoon dijon mustard
1 sprig fresh rosemary
2 sprigs of fresh thyme
1 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
(I used the juice from an entire lemon.)
1/2 cup butter (I like Kerrygold) (I used Lactancia because I don’t have access to pastured butter, I also used almost a whole brick of butter.)
Sea salt 
(I like Redmond Real Salt) (At this point Maddy added some nutmeg and a tiny sprinkling of cinnamon, which really added a nice flavour to the liverwurst.)
2 tablespoons cracked black pepper
 (optional) (I didn’t put any cracked black pepper, but I used regular table pepper.)

I also added about 2 TBLS of bacon grease that I had leftover. Keep in mind that this recipe is directly from Balanced Bites, so please go on over to her site and check it out, it’s incredible! Anything in italics is something I’ve added to the recipe.

Preparation:

  • Sauté the liver and onions in a couple of tablespoons of the butter/bacon grease until the livers are browned and the onions are tender.
  • Add wine, garlic, mustard, herbs and lemon juice and cook uncovered until most of the liquid has gone.
  • Transfer the mixture into a food processor and blend to a smooth paste along with the rest of the bacon grease and butter 1Tbsp at a time until it reaches a smooth, creamy consistency – you don’t want it to be crumbly.
  • Add salt (and other herbs) to taste.
  • Put pate in a shallow dish to refrigerate before serving.
  • (optional) Press cracked pepper onto the top of it or garnish with a sprig of fresh thyme or rosemary.
  • Enjoy spread on celery, carrots, cucumbers, peppers or any other veggies you want to dip! We served it on home made raw, dehydrated crackers that Maddy had made. It got rave reviews at the party this afternoon, and it even got my mom’s seal of approval, which doesn’t happen often because my mom is so picky.

Over at Balanced Bites, Diane Sanfilippo talks about all the nutrients in liver and why it is such a wholesome food, and I have to say, eating it definitely made me feel nourished. Liver is also one of the superfoods that she recommends in Practical Paleo, especially for thyroid function.

My mom’s party went really well today, however I did have a few sips of my brother’s beer. I did it without consciously thinking about it because we were having a belching contest. That’s right, we’re a bunch of animals over at our house. Anyway, it wasn’t until I went for that third swig that I realized what I was doing and switched immediately to water. I don’t feel bad or guilty, but my eczema has flared up tonight on my fingers and my right arm. These have been problem areas with me for a while.

Right now I’m trying to keep my blood sugars under 10.0, but I’m finding it difficult. I haven’t had ice cream in a few days and I’m quite proud of myself, however I’m still fighting a raging yeast infection. I took a fluconozole pill last night, and inserted a probiotic as well. I haven’t itched all day, until after dinner tonight. Affects of the beer? Probably.

I’m still frustrated though, because it’s been almost a month and I haven’t been able to shake this infection. Keeping my blood sugars under control is obviously key in resisting the yeast, but I just want it to stop. Honestly, I’d like to be able to make love to my husband without having to worry about having a disgusting vagina. I know this is a food blog, but being diabetic doesn’t come without it’s negatives, and being prone to yeast beasts is one of the worst. I know that a healthy diet and good blood sugars will help me maintain good vaginal health, but right now I don’t know how to kick this thing. I’ll probably do a 6-day Canesten treatment next. Another week of being out of service is a really daunting thought, though. Ugh.

I’m so frustrated, I’m eating all this amazing paleo food that’s supposed to be nourishing me (and I know that it is), and I can’t get rid of this stupid infection. I’m hoping it will be gone by tomorrow. Wish me luck!

*****
Edited to add: I would take a picture, but it looks really unappetizing. Like, seriously, dog poop.
Leave a Reply

