Balsamic Glazed Stir Fry

I made balsamic chicken glazed drumsticks the other night for dinner and the sauce was delicious. The more I dipped it, the more I thought how much better it would be with lime and some chili pepper. I made it again, with lime (I was out of chili pepper) and it was so delicious, it reminded me of hot and sour soup. I plan on making a hot and sour soup, when I remember to get chili pepper.

Tonight, though, I decided I was going to make a delicious hot and sour glaze for my stir fry. It’s tangy and delicious, and since I’m still out of chili pepper, or anything really spicy for that matter, I used a bit of chipotle hot sauce that I had in the fridge.

I used the veggies that I had on hand, which were onions, garlic, carrots and beets from the farmer’s market. I shredded the carrots and beets and added them last, so they would retain their crunch. The beets lend their very powerful flavour to this dish, so next time I would add mushrooms sauteed in butter/ghee, and perhaps sautée the meat in lard/tallow too, before adding it to the sauce.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup balsamic vinaigrette
  • juice of one lime, plus more to taste
  • 4 TBLS of wheat-free tamari sauce
  • 1 TBLS honey (optional)
  • 2 ladles full of bone broth
  • beef strips
  • 4 medium carrots, grated or shredded in a food processor
  • 2 small to medium beets
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 TBLS of fat of your choice (I used wild boar fat that I had leftover from bacon that I cooked, I think coconut oil would add a lovely flavour too.)
  • 3-4 cloves of garlic, minced
  • cilantro
  • mixed greens
  • sesame seeds

Directions:

In a large wok, add the balsamic vinegar, 2 cloves garlic, tamari, and lime. Cook on medium high heat until it’s reduced by almost half and is starting to thicken. Add the 2 ladles of bone broth. Cook down again until it’s thick and saucy-looking. Add the onion and simmer for a few minutes. At this point, add the TBLS honey. I only added it because my husband wasn’t a fan of how tangy it was. If you still find it too tangy, add another TBLS or 2 of honey. I can’t eat that much sugar, but I think my family would have liked it better. Next time I would also add something to give this a little kick, like chili peppers or chipotle.

Add the beef and when it’s almost cooked, also add the beets and carrots, and the last clove of garlic. Add the fat of choice, and drizzle with lime juice, mix well. Turn the heat off and let it simmer for a few minutes.

Serve over a bed of mixed greens and sprinkle sesame seeds and cilantro on top as a garnish.

 

Leave a Reply

