Paleo for One

My husband informed me a couple of days ago that he is no longer interested in eating paleo. He misses his cereal in the morning because it makes him happy. In fact, he told me, he’s miserable without it.

I’m pretty upset about this admission, but I can’t force him to eat like this if he doesn’t want to. However, since I am the grocery shopper and the cook, I will not be making separate meals for him. I make the kids’s lunches, and I am still refraining from eating grains, so my family will eat what I feed them. If my husband wants his cereal, he can buy it himself. I am still making paleo meals for the family, including lunches for the kids.

The reason I’m not terribly upset by his decision, and the reason I don’t mind it so much, is he’s already starting to have some stomach trouble. I know going back to grains is starting to heighten his anxiety. I’m waiting for him to realize it as well. I wonder how long it will take.

In the mean time, school is starting up soon and I just listened to a new podcast called The Paleo View, by the Paleo Parents (who wrote the book Eat Like a Dinosaur) and Sarah Ballantyne of The Paleo Mom.

It’s wonderful to hear their take on how they feed their kids, and I think when my girls start school I’ll do a feature on their lunches. Last year was easier than I expected with the paleo eats. I love the bento boxes because it separates all the food and it keeps me on my toes in terms of diversity.

I’m going to have the girls help me write a list of things they love to eat so I know what to get at the grocery store. Willow, my 9-year-old is starting to get picky, so I’m hoping this will eliminate any issues we might have.

The hardest thing about doing paleo right now is feeling like I’m completely alone in my house. The kids, when given the chance, will always pick something unhealthy. I try not to give them the chance, but I have no control over them when they’re visiting my parents. I’m trying to teach them as best I can about being healthy, but it’s hard when Martin’s not on board either. I will make this work, though. I am trying my best with the kids. I’m having them look through Eat Like a Dinosaur with me to help me pick out meals that they’ll enjoy eating.

As for myself, I’m not having too hard of a time keeping at it. I like the way I feel, I just wish I could lose weight. I’m still hanging out at around 185lbs, but my blood sugars have stabilized and will hopefully lower when I start adding in some more exercise. I need to walk more, and lift some heavy things. Luckily, my best friend Maddy is doing this with me, so we always bounce idea’s off each other for meal plans. She’s my only support in this, and I’m glad I have it. Her family is much more readily accepting of the paleo way of life.

The food has been delicious, though! I love every recipe I’ve tried from Practical Paleo.

Breakfast today was bone broth (the recipe is from Practical Paleo.) Lunch was takeout, a beef and chicken shawarma salad with no pita chips, and I picked out the red cabbage since it’s goitrogenic and I’m avoiding those for the moment. Dinner was 2 red deer/boar meat sausages without the casing, mixed with 4 eggs and a 2 TBLS salsa in a delicious, if salty, frittata. The sausages were saltier than they usually were, so I might talk to the vendor at the farmer’s market on Sunday.

Tomorrow I’m checking out the Organic Farmer’s Market! They have lots more options for pastured meat, which I’m looking forward to. They even have rabbit meat!

More on that in a later post.

2 comments on “Paleo for One

  1. Jen says:

    I’m glad I found your blog today! I have been looking into the Paleo lifestyle and read the Eat Like A Dinosaur book from the library. I loved it! I am a type 2 diabetic and needing to lose the weight too. I am thinking I’ll be doing this way of life at least for myself. My hubby is kind of like yours and not completely on board with it! Hope you have a wonderful day and I look forward to hearing about the school lunches! I need some ideas for myself and my 6 year old 🙂

  2. Hey, thanks for commenting! Lunches can be so easy, lots of the time you can just use leftovers from dinner the night before. My son likes it simple so he’ll have some slices of deli ham (natural selections) and half an avocado with some fruit. He also loves bacon, so bacon with avocado is always an awesome combination. I like to make pudding out of avocado too. It changes it up a bit. I’m still trying to get him off the carb-laden foods, so we’ll get there eventually.
    My husband went paleo for a year and lost a bunch of weight. He believes in it, and respects that I’m doing it, for him right now though he doesn’t want to continue with it. It’s hard though, because I’m the strictest I’ve ever been.
    Anyway, I’ll probably do a lunches segment as a back-to school special, so keep coming back!

Leave a Reply

