Farmer’s Market Plate

I just made the most delicious dinner, and all three kids, even Rowan, ate it all. It was amazing. It was so amazing in fact, that I didn’t even think to take a picture until after. This is a picture of one of the kids’s bowls.

 

 

To make this delicious meal, you’ll need:

  • 4 large sausages (I used red deer and boar sausages that I got at the farmer’s market, but you could use any kind you like!), with the casings removed
  • 1 large red onion, chopped
  • bacon fat (I made bacon yesterday and I just used the leftovers that were in the cast iron pan.)
  • 1/4 cup of balsamic vinegar
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 3-4 medium carrots (I used one really large yellow and green heirloom tomato that I got fresh from the farmer’s market today, and a smallish regular orange carrot.), grated or shredded in the food processor
  • pepper, and mustard to garnish

Directions:

Sautée the red onion in the bacon fat for a couple of minutes until the onions become translucent. Add the balsamic vinegar and sautée for a few more minutes until it cooks down a bit. Once it has a syrop-like texture, add the sausage and garlic. Break up the sausage as it cooks. When the sausage is almost done, add the garlic. Stir a few times, then add the shredded carrots. I don’t like carrots that are overcooked, so once they start to look a bit wilted, serve with mustard and enjoy!

I also made roasted mushrooms to go with this dish. Obviously the children (nor the husband) partook of these amazing mushrooms. But Maddy and I enjoyed every last bite. All you need is 12 small mushrooms, stems removed, placed in a baking dish. Crack some sea salt on them, and place a pat of butter in each cap. Add some fresh, crushed garlic and pepper. Bake at 350F for 15-20 minutes, until the mushrooms start to release their juices and the butter has had a chance to melt and simmer the garlic. Make sure the lid on your salt shaker isn’t broken. However, if it is, make sure you mention that to your friend when they start cracking the salt on. Otherwise you end up with most of your salt shaker all over the mushrooms. Sorry, Maddy.

 

 

2 comments on “Farmer’s Market Plate

  1. Butterfly009 says:

    Why is your post only loading part way and then getting stuck? I’ve tried refreshing the page several times but I still can’t view the entire post. SwOu71er.

  2. I’m not sure why you’re having problems, it’s loading fine for me, maybe close down the page and come back and revisit? So sorry!

Leave a Reply

