The 21-Day Sugar Detox

Happy Healthy New Year!

I’m not really big on New Year’s resolutions and I never have been. This year feels different, though. This year I’m making a commitment  to my health. I have the knowledge, and the desire to make the changes that I need to get myself fit.

Paleo has been keeping my blood sugars in fantastic shape (comparatively speaking to my pre-paleo days) but over Christmas I threw myself off the wagon while I was still wearing my seat belt. As in, I ate way too much junk, I drank way too much, and overall felt terrible. What better time to recommit, though, than for the New Year?

I decided to jump on board with my gang of favourite bloggers and try out the 21-Day Sugar Detox. I don’t really feel like it’s any different than what I normally eat as my ‘paleo’ template. Except I can’t give in to chocolate. Which is fine, because I’ve noticed lately that my favourite chocolate, Reese peanut butter cups, makes my eczema flare up anyway, so I’ll have to stop eating them regardless.

Diabetes is a tricky disease to work with, and I’m always trying my best to maintain normal blood sugar levels. I avoid most sugar anyway, so I don’t feel like this detox is going to hit me as hard as someone who drinks a lot of pop or is coming from a non-paleo eating template.

Over Christmas I drank regular pop, ate pizza, chocolate, candy, cookies, eggs, and tomatoes. My eczema on my fingers and arm flared up to the worst it’s been since starting paleo. My hand was cracked and weeping in multiple places, my arm broke out from above my elbow to just before my wrist. Obviously my blood sugars were out of control too. I’m terrified to think what was going on in my insides.

Anyway, all that to say that I think it’s time to get back to the basics.

No sugar. No packaged foods. No eggs. No nightshades. No goitrogens.

I have bad eczema reactions to eggs and tomatoes and paprika. I’m also trying to help my thyroid by avoiding broccoli, cabbage, pears and strawberries.

It may seem like there’s nothing out there that I can eat, but I’m choosing to look at what I can eat instead of what I can’t. I love that the 21-Day Sugar Detox give a very extensive list of all the things I can eat and some wonderful recipes.

With that, I will leave you with a delicious recipe for bone broth that I’ve been drinking almost since winter started.

You will need:

A couple bones (I get mine from the butcher, just ask for soup bones), or the leftover bones from a chicken carcass

2 TBLS apple cider vinegar

1 TBLS sea salt

Toss all ingredients in a crock pot and fill to the top with water. Cook on low heat over night. I like to cook mine for a couple of days before I dig in and enjoy. I will also sometimes add onions and garlic for more flavour, not that it needs any, but I love all the different things you can add! If you’re going to keep it cooking for a couple of days, like I do, take the veggies out after 8-12 hours so they don’t turn bitter. Sometimes I add cold meat, like left over turkey, or chicken when I’m eating it. You could even use left over ground meat. Nutritious and delicious!

I plan on keeping up with regular posts because I feel like this information is important to people, and a lot of people have been asking about my recipes lately.

I hope you all have a Healthy, Delicious New Year!

Leave a Reply

