21DSD Day 5 – Lunch

I made the most delicious lunch today. In my previous post, I mentioned how much I missed slathering mayo all over everything. Well, that definitely includes tuna! I found some already-cooked lobsters at the grocery store yesterday, so I shucked all the meat out of it, and mixed that with some canned tuna and the bacon mayo that I made this morning. I added some more dijon mustard, cucumbers, cilantro, green onions, and kalamata olives. I also sprinkled it with garlic powder and pepper.

I served it on romaine lettuce leaves as a wrap and it was so crunchy and satisfying!


photo

 

As for the detox, I’m feeling really good so far. I haven’t experienced any headaches. Yesterday I wasn’t feeling well in the morning, but I think that’s because I had a severe case of hypoglycemia in the middle of the night. Anyway, it resolved itself by the evening and today I’m feeling great, lots of energy.

 

I’m still having a pretty severe eczema outbreak on my hands. It seems to be focused only on the back of my hands and, ironically, my nipples. Strange, but true. I’m really hoping it’s going to start clearing up soon, especially since I haven’t eaten any of my trigger foods. Other than that, I’m enjoying the food on the detox, I don’t find it all that different from my normal paleo eating. I guess the diabetes comes in handy for limiting the amount of sugar I eat. Woot!

Here are some pictures of my hands to help you get a better idea of what I’m dealing with. I’ve been slathering (I love that word) coconut oil on them to relieve the itching. I’m avoiding my steroid creams for the detox but if it gets any worse, I’ll consider using it.

eczema1

This is my right pinky and ring finger. It’s suffering the worst of it because that’s where my original eczema break out started when I ate eggs over the holidays.

 

eczema2

This is the back of my hand. It’s just red and itchy. I didn’t put any filters on these pictures so you could see it as ‘naturally’ as possible.

eczema3

This is also an original eczema break out spot from the holidays. Eggs and me aren’t friends anymore. This makes me sad because I could eat eggs all day. This is also a spot that’s become itchy and red since starting the detox. It was healing, as was my pinky finger, until I ate eggs New Year’s day. Everything else hasn’t stopped itching since the start of the detox. It’s still itching now. I wish it would stop and go away.

Enjoy your lunch!

One comment on “21DSD Day 5 – Lunch

  1. Jon Griffith says:

    Greetings. FYI, I just wanted to reach out to you to let you know that I’ve added you to my site in the 21-Day Sugar Detox blogroll. Hope you’re doing well on it. 🙂 You can see it here:

    http://www.ArizonaTriGuy.com

Leave a Reply

