AIP (Egg-Free) Bacon Mayo

Before going paleo, I used to slather mayo on everything. I love mayo. White, creamy, tangy, delicious! Since going paleo, I’ve found a few home made mayo recipes, and they were alright, but in the end I couldn’t eat them because they contained eggs. I’m on a mission to create a tasty mayo substitute that doesn’t contain eggs. I may have found it today.

In a food processor combine:

  • 1/2 cup bacon fat
  • All the cream from the top of can of coconut milk that has separated from the water. (Tip: Leave the can in the fridge overnight so it separates.)
  • 2 heaping teaspoons of dijon mustard (I’m sure regular mustard would work well.)
  • The juice from half a lime
  • A little coconut water (left over from the can, in case the mixture is too thick.)
  • Salt to taste, 1/2 to 1 teaspoon

 

photo

This yields a tangy, delicious whipped mayo that I have yet to beat. It could easily be used as a dressing or even a sauce. I didn’t have lemons, but next time I’ll try it with half a lemon instead of the lime. You could also add equal parts garlic and onion powder with fresh (or dried) parsley to create a bacon ranch dressing! The possibilites are endless!
The best part? A creamy, full fat mayo with no eggs!

Yesterday, for lunch I made Mustard Glazed Chicken Thighs! I got the recipe from Practical Paleo, which if you don’t own, you should. The recipes in there are incredible, and most of them can be used with the 21-Day Sugar Detox. This is the recipe that I followed, but I omitted the honey. I swapped out the paprika for garlic powder instead and I used dijon mustard.

photo3

 

I also made myself a little tomato-free, green ‘salsa’ to go with it. I used half an avocado, half an english cucumber, chopped fresh cilantro, and a chopped green onion. I drizzled it with fresh squeezed lime and a little bit of salt. It was a really great complement to the mustard chicken.

photo2

 

If you make the mayo, let me know what kind of different flavours you experiment with! Enjoy!

3 comments on “AIP (Egg-Free) Bacon Mayo

  1. andloveittoo says:

    I have been trying to work out an egg free mayo recipe that is safe for the AI Protocol. The only non-egg one I’ve done before has nuts in it, so that was still a no-go. This sounds delicious, I can’t wait to try. xoxo

  2. I would make a slight alteration to the recipe and add a bit of the coconut water to make it a little more creamy when it’s in the fridge! Good luck and let me know how it turns out!

  3. Leigh says:

    Thank you thank you thank you! I am a mayo girl as well and have been BUMMED! Now to eat more bacon this week so I can save up the fat. 😉

Leave a Reply

