Day 15 of The 21-Day Sugar Detox

Doing this detox has taught me a number of things. One, I probably didn’t need to do this detox. I really don’t eat all that much sugar (due to the diabetes) but I’m going to finish it, because this is a year that I want to finish what I start. I’m glad I tried the detox though, because I do like to snack and this has definitely made me rethink what I’m eating.

I’ve always been an avid ingredient-reader, especially when I was a vegetarian, so that’s a habit I’ve always had.

I busted out my real camera so I can start taking real pictures of my food. I love food. I love whole, real, nourishing foods and I want to show that from now on here at my blog.

This detox has forced me to become more creative in the kitchen! I just love a challenge, and this detox has challenged me to come up with good food, not just for myself, but for my family. They didn’t do the detox with me, but I’m in charge of meals in this house, so they get what I serve. And it had better be good or I have 4 people letting me know!

I’m always on the lookout for good snacks that the kids can take to school that are nut and gluten free. Well I created an amazing recipe that I think fits the bill. I’ll be posting it later this week.

Lunch today was atlantic salmon, baked on a cedar plank. I served it over a bed of spinach and accompanied it with roasted brussel sprouts, and sauteed mushrooms and onions. It was so filling and delicious. The veggies were all cooked with copious amounts of coconut oil.

Salmon

I’m still full, and it raised my blood sugars a little more than I anticipated, which always disappoints me. However, with diligent monitoring, the sugars never get too high. Not to mention, since starting the detox, my average high has dropped by several points, which is always a good thing.

I have an endocrinologist appointment tomorrow and I’m excited to see what he says about my blood work. Last time I saw him, he put me on statins, that I chose not to take. I went strict paleo, then I started the detox not too long after, so we’ll see!

Dinner tonight is a baked pork chop and butternut squash soup. I served the kids some applesauce on their pork chops, with a side of scrambled eggs and a bowl of soup. Nothing terribly interesting, simple but delicious.

How are you doing with your detox?

 

One comment on “Day 15 of The 21-Day Sugar Detox

  1. Kristine says:

    I was recommended this website by my cousin.
    I am not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about
    my problem. You’re wonderful! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

